Saturday, January 9, 2016

DOE Reactivates Power Industry Task Force for 2016 Elections

Wazzup Pilipinas!

Cognizant of the government’s aim to hold a successful election, the Department of Energy (DOE) once again reactivates the Power Task Force for Election 2016 under DOE Department Circular DC2016-01-0001.

The Task Force, which was formed in 2010, is in compliance with the Commission on Elections Resolution No. 10023 deputizing the DOE, National Electrification Administration (NEA), National Power Corporation (NPC), National Grid Corporation of the Philippines (NGCP) and the local electric cooperatives to ensure that there is adequate, stable and reliable power supply before, during and after the national and local elections in the country which will happen on May 9, 2016.

The DC particularly outlines specific duties and responsibilities of concerned national government agencies and power stakeholders, such as, ensuring availability and operation of power plants and electricity market, carrying out strategic preventive maintenance of all power facilities, and providing enough technical manpower for emergency response and security of vital power infrastructures, among others.

The Power Task Force Core Group is composed of the DOE as head and NEA, NGCP, NPC, National Transmission Corporation, Power Sector Assets & Liabilities Management Corporation, Philippine Electricity Market Corporation and Manila Electric Company as members.Meanwhile, the Independent Power Producers Association, Philippine Rural Electric Cooperatives Association, Private Electric Power Operators Association, Inc., Retail Electricity Suppliers Association, Philippine Federation of Electric Cooperatives and other associations of distribution utilities serve as supporting members. Likewise, all power suppliers and service providers (i.e., distribution utilities, electric cooperatives, and generation companies) are directed to extend full cooperation and support to the attainment of the Taskforce’s objectives.

The Election Power Task Force’s Command Centers within NGCP Compounds in Luzon, Visayas, Mindanao are as follows:

Headquarters - Diliman, Quezon City

Satellite Centers
· Visayas - Banilad, Cebu City
· Mindanao - Cagayan de Oro City

On election period, Power Updates will be published through the DOE’s Twitter account (@DOE_PH), Facebook account ( and the DOE website (, as well as in various social networking sites of the Election Power Task Force members at a designated time in the morning, afternoon, and evening.

About "" is the fastest growing and most awarded blog and social media community that has transcended beyond online media. It has successfully collaborated with all forms of media namely print, radio and television making it the most diverse multimedia organization. The numerous collaborations with hundreds of brands and organizations as online media partner and brand ambassador makes a truly successful advocate of everything about the Philippines, and even more since its support extends further to even international organizations including startups and SMEs that have made our country their second home.

Post a Comment

Ang Pambansang Blog ng Pilipinas Wazzup Pilipinas and the Umalohokans. Ang Pambansang Blog ng Pilipinas celebrating 10th year of online presence
Copyright © 2013 Wazzup Pilipinas News and Events
Design by FBTemplates | BTT