Monday, March 14, 2016

BalayMindanaw Launches Awards for Outstanding Partner Barangays

Wazzup Pilipinas!

BalayMindanaw Group (BMG) is launching its first-ever BalayMindanaw Awards to celebrate its 20th year of existence by recognizing and acknowledging outstanding partner barangays.

“Through the awards, we will celebrate local victories in building empowered, sustainable, resilient and peaceful communities,” said President and Founder of BalayMindanaw, Charlito “Kaloy” Manlupig.

The BalayMindanaw Awards seeks to recognize citizens' initiatives of barangay governance to make a difference by working towards equity, development, peace and resiliency.

“We wish to recognize community-based and barangay-focused initiatives and best practices. Inspired by their examples, we see our 20th anniversary as the time to give back to our partners,” he said.

All BalayMindanaw partner barangays, of at least 3 years standing, in the Visayas and Mindanao can be nominated for the BalayMindanaw Awards.

There are 4 categories for the awards. The Kaangayan Award is for communities that have shown outstanding local capacities in addressing issues of injustice and inequities.
The Kalambuan Award will be given to communities that have shown outstanding initiatives in addressing poverty towards sustainability and viability.

The Kalinaw Award will be presented to communities that have shown outstanding local initiatives in addressing violent conflicts, able transform these conflicts and capable of building peace.

Lastly, the Kalig-on Award will be offered to communities that have shown institutionalized or developed resiliency and preparedness in facing disasters.

The Council of Judges is composed of 13 seasoned personalities with solid grounding on community development, peacebuilding, disaster management, and rights and social justice. The Council is chaired by Edicio de la Torre, co-chaired by Archbishop Tony Ledesma, and joined by Gerry Bulatao, Ma. Corazon Llanderal, Jose Noel Olano, CharlitoManlupig, Sylvia Paraguya, Ayi Hernandez, Teody Pena, David and Jane Langworthy, Ramon Chua and Goldy Chan.

Winners will receive prize packages with a trophy and P100,000.00 cash including barangay para-legal training, project development fund, community OPKORS, sky hydrant, and ram pump.

The award trophy, which represents the BalayMindanaw vision for Mindanao as the bearer of light, hope and peace, is handcrafted by JojoSescon, a renowned environmentalist, photojournalist, multi-awarded film maker and international sculptor from Mindanao. The trophy depicts the tri people braced together for unity, enabling communities and inspiring lives.

The nomination process for the BalayMindanaw Award begins this March 2016. The deadline for nominations is on March 21.

The shortlist of nominees will be announced on April 8 while the finalists will be announced on May 8. The awarding, presentation, exhibition, and celebration will be held in time with the BalayMindanaw Days celebration on May 26 to 28, 2016.

About "" is the fastest growing and most awarded blog and social media community that has transcended beyond online media. It has successfully collaborated with all forms of media namely print, radio and television making it the most diverse multimedia organization. The numerous collaborations with hundreds of brands and organizations as online media partner and brand ambassador makes a truly successful advocate of everything about the Philippines, and even more since its support extends further to even international organizations including startups and SMEs that have made our country their second home.

Post a Comment

Ang Pambansang Blog ng Pilipinas Wazzup Pilipinas and the Umalohokans. Ang Pambansang Blog ng Pilipinas celebrating 10th year of online presence
Copyright © 2013 Wazzup Pilipinas News and Events
Design by FBTemplates | BTT