Wednesday, January 7, 2015

The SOPA 2015 Awards for Editorial Excellence Launches Call For Entries

Wazzup Pilipinas!

Entering its 17th year, The Society of Publishers in Asia (SOPA), an organization dedicated to best practices in professional publishing, announced the call for entries for the "SOPA 2015 Awards for Editorial Excellence". The premier publishing awards represent the most outstanding journalistic accolade in Asia. Deadline for entries is February 26, 2015.

The SOPA Awards for Editorial Excellence were established in 1999 as a tribute to editorial excellence in both traditional and new media, and were designed to encourage editorial vitality throughout the region. The awards cover a broad range of categories reflecting Asia’s diverse geo-political environment and vibrant editorial scene.

New judging criteria for the award category "Journalist of the Year" will be adopted, in which entries from Group A, B and C will be combined for judging resulting in only one winner. Journalist of the Year is designed to honor the journalist who has best demonstrated excellence in editorial achievement. Last year winner's honor went to Mr. Todd Pitman of Associated Press.

The SOPA Awards highlight editorial excellence in both traditional and new media, and are designed to honor and encourage editorial vitality and innovation throughout the region, and welcome entries from English and Chinese-language publications for Asian journalism. The awards cover a broad range of categories reflecting Asia's diverse geo-political environment and vibrant editorial scene.

"SOPA is a guardian of free press in Asia, where fine journalism often fights against powerful forces that seek to suppress its voice. The SOPA awards recognize enterprising journalism regardless of the size of the news organization that produces it or the medium in which it is published. It is a forum for the best reporting, writing, photographic and graphic design in publishing in Asia to gain deserved attention," said Tom Leander, Chairman of the SOPA Editorial Awards Committee.

"SOPA also champions the entrepreneurial spirit of journalists and publishers in this lively and spirited industry across a region of immense cultural, political and economic diversity."

The SOPA Awards' judging panel includes journalists, designers and photo editors from the region's leading newspapers, consumer and trade magazines, as well as notable academics from the journalism and media departments of prestigious universities.

Judging for the 2015 Awards will be conducted by a team of more than 100 international judges stationed across the globe. The Journalism & Media Studies Centre at The University of Hong Kong will again be the Awards Administrator and has been since 2011.

SOPA has started accepting entries for the 18 categories from publications and journalists across the region for the SOPA 2015 Awards. To encourage various entries from both large and small publications, entries are classified by circulation size and language type - either English or Chinese.

Entries can be submitted from now until 3pm February 26, 2015 at .

About "" is the fastest growing and most awarded blog and social media community that has transcended beyond online media. It has successfully collaborated with all forms of media namely print, radio and television making it the most diverse multimedia organization. The numerous collaborations with hundreds of brands and organizations as online media partner and brand ambassador makes a truly successful advocate of everything about the Philippines, and even more since its support extends further to even international organizations including startups and SMEs that have made our country their second home.

Post a Comment

Ang Pambansang Blog ng Pilipinas Wazzup Pilipinas and the Umalohokans. Ang Pambansang Blog ng Pilipinas celebrating 10th year of online presence
Copyright © 2013 Wazzup Pilipinas News and Events
Design by FBTemplates | BTT