Monday, January 22, 2018

3 Benilde Films Compete at CineMapúa to Defend Title

Wazzup Pilipinas!

Three short films from the De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde Digital Filmmaking program will attempt to duplicate last year's success of their fellow Benildeans when the annual CineMapúa student film festival kicks off this week at Mapúa University in Intramuros, Manila.

Karla Urquiaga's Healing, Jaig de Guzman's Amy and Regina Aceron's and C.J. Villa's Binihag are among the ten finalists of the CineMapúa 2018 Intercollegiate category.

Last year, Benilde film graduate Michael Pagaduan's Kaming Mga Nakakulong won Best Director and Best Film while Martin Mayuga's Babuyan, another Benilde entry, brought home Best Actress for Cataleya Surio, Best Supporting Actor for Jomari Angeles and three other minor awards.

Healing takes on the reality of a traumatized girl who tries to find her psyche. The film features Larissa Louise Alivio, Fe Saligumba, Erick Samonte and Matthew Seaver Choy.

Amy tells the story of Mark, a college student from Tacloban who can’t help but see his girlfriend Amy who presumably died in the devastating typhoon Yolanda. He reaches out to a person who lives exclusively in his mind. Choy topbills the film, this time opposite Chloe Tabanda.

Binihag is about a hitman who finds his way to redemption as he interrogates a captive. Tracy Quila, Tere Gonzales, Dino Mercado, Lian Gonzales and Bongjon Jose star in this action-drama.

The three Benilde thesis films will compete with Akalingwan Nang Rosa directed by Max Canlas from University of the Philippines-Diliman, Ang Sabi Ni Madam by Ed Paulo Villanueva from De La Salle-Lipa, Dapithapon by Nyle Libranza from Asia Pacific Film Institute, Hahahahuhuhu by Delano Vinci Agapito, also from APFI, Mission Accomplished by Eidref Magpayo from Centro Escolar University-Malolos, Pompoms by AJ Amar from Polytechnic University of the Philippines-Manila and Pua Iyam by Juan Pablo Pineda III from Far Eastern University-Manila.

Meanwhile, Nixs Bernal's two short films Nik-Nik and Uwi, Faustino Abante's Ang Mga Burloloy ni Ella, Jev Romuel Gamboa's Margo, Stephanie Dumayas' Munting Tahanan, Emmanuel Chino Mutia's Sa Mundong Aming Ginagalawan, Michael John Tuclaud's Scripted, Fernando Manalo's Toilet Trobol, Jay Carlo Magboo's and Gadriell Gem Sol's Uwian Na and Eugene Torres' Yujin compete in the All Mapúans Category.

The finalists for the Animation Category, which was introduced this year, are Southbound by Zaira Daradar and Rhadney Reyes, Imahe by Marc Lorenzo Tolentino, A113 by Keith Altares, Pood by Gio Sallena and Ugat by Calvin Hernandez, all from Mapúa's Multimedia Arts and Sciences.

CineMapúa, organized by Film Arts and Media Enthusiasts, aims to showcase students' skills in producing short films and animation as well as their appreciation of the value of making films. It is headed by Festival Director and School of Media Studies officer-in-charge Benny Agapito.

Screenings are scheduled from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m., every two hours, at Audio-Visual Rooms 1, 2 and 3 from January 22 to 27. This is part of Mapúa's 93rd founding anniversary celebration.

About "" is the fastest growing and most awarded blog and social media community that has transcended beyond online media. It has successfully collaborated with all forms of media namely print, radio and television making it the most diverse multimedia organization. The numerous collaborations with hundreds of brands and organizations as online media partner and brand ambassador makes a truly successful advocate of everything about the Philippines, and even more since its support extends further to even international organizations including startups and SMEs that have made our country their second home.

Post a Comment

Ang Pambansang Blog ng Pilipinas Wazzup Pilipinas and the Umalohokans. Ang Pambansang Blog ng Pilipinas celebrating 10th year of online presence
Copyright © 2013 Wazzup Pilipinas News and Events
Design by FBTemplates | BTT