Tuesday, June 4, 2013

Yahoo! Launches Third Edition of OMG! Awards in the Philippines

Wazzup Pilipinas!

I was a great deal early so I was able to watch the rehearsal of the Yahoo OMG! event from where I got the information that both Charice and Anne Curtis won as Media Magnets.

There were two winners for the 3rd Yahoo OMG!'s Media Magnet award - for Charice and Anne Curtis. But unfortunately, only Charice was able to make it to the 3rd Yahoo OMG! presscon and party, so she gets to be recognized as the Media Magnet awardee that night. The Media Magnet award was a result of the voting of the members of the media, including bloggers.

The voting for the 3rd Yahoo OMG! has started and everyone has the opportunity to vote once a day until the final deadline which will be approximately one week before the awarding on June 19.

Yahoo OMG! is the hottest celebrity awards powered by fans! It's our chance to give our all-out support for our favorite stars!

The annual celebration recognizes the achievement of local celebrities in the field of TV, movies, radio and music. These celebrities have been most-searched on Yahoo! Philippines and have caught the attention of the Filipino audience over the past year.

“Filipinos are passionate about all things showbiz and this is exactly what Yahoo! caters to with OMG!.  We give our users the latest and greatest about the local entertainment scene. The Yahoo! OMG! Awards is our way of giving back to our users by offering them a platform to support and rally behind their favorite stars.” says Kate Delos Reyes, Country Manager and Country Editor of Yahoo! Philippines.

The best of Pinoy talent to be showcased in year’s biggest awards night as Yahoo! Philippines launches the third edition of the Yahoo! OMG! Awards by announcing this year’s nominees list. Yahoo! OMG! Awards honors the Philippines’ favorite celebs, emerging stars and dedicated fans in the fields of music, film, radio and television, who have been most-searched on Yahoo! Philippines and have also caught the attention of the Filipino audience over the past year. The year’s hottest celebrity awards is unique as it is powered purely by fans. For the first time, the Yahoo! OMG! Awards is co-presented by McCafĂ©.

The awards ceremony which will take place on July 19 includes 106 nominees in 22 categories. The event gives users a chance to vote for their favorite stars on Yahoo!’s popular entertainment news site, OMG!, and see them up close and personal during a star-studded, glamorous evening.

“In the last two years, Yahoo! OMG! Awards has received a phenomenal response in the country, drawing the Philippines’ brightest stars, celebrities, and fans alike. The success of Yahoo! OMG! Awards once again underscores that when it comes to creating daily connections to news and entertainment content, Yahoo! is the online users’ destination of choice.” said Kate Delos Reyes, Country Manager and Country Editor of Yahoo! Philippines.

A look through this year’s nominees shows that “stars rock and fans rule” – the theme this year’s awards is celebrating. Unlike other awards shows, the OMG! Awards further supports fans by recognizing them through the Fan Club of the Year. Classic favorites are included in the roster but there are a few surprising additions including: Ryzza Mae Dizon of Eat Bulaga and now host of her own daily talk show, The Ryzza Mae Show; Xaijian Jaranilla, Mutya Orquia and Xyriel Manabat from ABS-CBN and Mona Louise Rey from GMA for the Yahoo! OMG! Child Star of the Year.

Two films featuring John Lloyd Cruz -- The Mistress and It Takes a Man and a Woman -- are vying for the OMG! Movie of the Year along with Brillante Mendoza’s Thy Womb, Star Cinema’s Sisterakas and One More Try.

There are even offbeat choices for Love Team of the Year, actual celebrity team-ups fighting for the crown with the fictional couple played by Jodi Sta. Maria and Richard Yap on ABS-CBN’s Please Be Careful with My Heart, Maya and Sir Chief. There are some electrifying showdowns to look forward to and this year’s Yahoo! OMG! Awards promises to be larger than ever.

Delos Reyes encouraged everyone to participate, “Make sure you support your favorite celebrities. You can vote everyday and even get your family and friends to do the same.”

Performers for the night were the popular Abra and Philia now performing. Did you know that Philia's vocalist is none other than TV5 star Arci Munoz?

Voting is available online through and via text messaging OMG HELP to 2910 to all networks from now until July 12, 2013.

The Yahoo! OMG! Awards is also supported by Magnum, Cream Silk and Colgate Optic White.

Users can follow the Yahoo! OMG! Awards on Twitter at @yahooph #omgawardsph and “Like” its Facebook page on Regular updates will be featured on the official site at

You can vote from June 4 until July 12, 2013. The purple carpet awards night will take place at the Mall of Asia Arena on July 19. Tickets are available free at any SM Cinema outlet. Just present a valid ID to claim the tickets. Get additional tickets if you show the OMG! Awards page through your mobile phones.

Users can follow the latest about OMG! Awards on Twitter @yahooph #omgawardsph and “Like” its Facebook page. Regular updates will be featured on the Yahoo! Philippines OMG! site.

About "" is the fastest growing and most awarded blog and social media community that has transcended beyond online media. It has successfully collaborated with all forms of media namely print, radio and television making it the most diverse multimedia organization. The numerous collaborations with hundreds of brands and organizations as online media partner and brand ambassador makes a truly successful advocate of everything about the Philippines, and even more since its support extends further to even international organizations including startups and SMEs that have made our country their second home.

Post a Comment

Ang Pambansang Blog ng Pilipinas Wazzup Pilipinas and the Umalohokans. Ang Pambansang Blog ng Pilipinas celebrating 10th year of online presence
Copyright © 2013 Wazzup Pilipinas News and Events
Design by FBTemplates | BTT