Friday, May 5, 2017

DOTR, LRMC Lead LRT-1 Cavite Extension Project Ground Breaking

Wazzup Pilipinas!

Department of Transportation (DOTr) Secretary Arthur P. Tugade and Light Rail Manila Corporation (LRMC) President and CEO Rogelio L. Singson led the ground breaking ceremony of the LRT-1 Cavite extension project, a government and private sector initiative that will create an additional eight passenger stations through an extended alignment of 11-kilometers, passing the cities of Parañaque, Las Piñas and of Bacoor in Cavite.

"Mobility and connectivity are the platforms upon which you can be assured of development and growth in any nation. The realization of this project establishes that connectivity. If you have an honest to goodness, well-meaning partnership between government and the private sector, then things will move,” Secretary Tugade said.

The transportation chief noted that activities were laid as early as 2006, but it was only this year, during the term of President Rodrigo Duterte, that the project is gaining actual momentum. The National Economic Development Authority (NEDA) approved the extension and alignment project in 2011.

“Imagine a situation where in 2011 na-approve na ng NEDA, ngayon pa lang – after 6 years – magi-inaugurate tayo. That is indeed delayed – gargantuan delay. But when you put partnership, well-meaning partnership between private sector and government, then you can fast-track the projects,” Tugade explains.

This railway line is expected to accommodate 410,000 passengers/day on its opening year, and is targeted to be completed on the last quarter of 2021. However, Tugade appealed to its private partners to consider expediting the project to a sooner date through 24-hour construction period without undermining and sacrificing the quality and intended costs.

“This government, as stated very explicitly by Secretary Dominguez and Secretary Diokno, are willing to absorb what we call “reasonable attrition” because we are making people in construction do work for 24 hours. Nakikiisa po kami dahil paniniwala namin na kung tatapusin ang mga konstruksyon at imprastraktura sa lalong madaling panahon without sacrificing quality and cost, sa lalong madaling panahon, the benefits will immediately accrue to the people," he said.

The eight new stations identified by LRMC and DOTr will be Aseana, MIA, Asia World, Ninoy Aquino and Dr. Santos in Paranaque City; Las Piñas and Zapote Stations in Las Piñas City and Niog Station in Bacoor, Cavite.

Aside from Tugade and Singson, other notable personalities who attended the ground breaking ceremonies are Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH) Secretary Mark Villar, Ayala Corporation’s Chairman and CEO Mr. Jaime Augusto Zobel De Ayala, Senator Cynthia Villar, Cavite Governor Jesus Crispin “Boying” Remulla, Cavite 2nd District Representative Strike Revilla, Parañaque City Mayor Edwin Olivarez, Bacoor City Mayor Lani Mercado-Revilla and officials from the LGUs of Parañaque, Las Piñas and Bacoor, the DOTr, LRMC, DPWH, the PPP Center and private partners.

About "" is the fastest growing and most awarded blog and social media community that has transcended beyond online media. It has successfully collaborated with all forms of media namely print, radio and television making it the most diverse multimedia organization. The numerous collaborations with hundreds of brands and organizations as online media partner and brand ambassador makes a truly successful advocate of everything about the Philippines, and even more since its support extends further to even international organizations including startups and SMEs that have made our country their second home.

Post a Comment

Ang Pambansang Blog ng Pilipinas Wazzup Pilipinas and the Umalohokans. Ang Pambansang Blog ng Pilipinas celebrating 10th year of online presence
Copyright © 2013 Wazzup Pilipinas News and Events
Design by FBTemplates | BTT