Sunday, October 11, 2015

APEC Energy Ministers’ Meeting Set to Start

Wazzup Pilipinas!

The Philippine Department of Energy (DOE) is ready to welcome the arrival of more than 200 delegates from Member Economies, including the United States, Japan, People's Republic of China, Russia, and Thailand, among others for the 12th APEC Energy Ministers’ Meeting (EMM12) on 12-14 October 2015 in Cebu.

In addressing the changing energy climate affected by natural and human-induced disasters, Energy Ministers will convene for the EMM12 to set directions and discuss various best practices on climate-proofing energy infrastructures, avenues for promoting cutting edge energy efficiency technologies, community-based clean energies to help alleviate poverty, and most importantly, facilitating energy trade and investment in the APEC community.

The Ministers are also expected to come up with what will be called “the Cebu Declaration” embodying and focusing on plans and strategies “Towards an Energy Resilient APEC Community.” The Energy Working Group will be tasked by the Energy Ministers to develop and implement Action Plans to carry out the agreements to be finalized in the Declaration and may cover the following areas:

— Resiliency of Energy Infrastructures
— Energy Investments
— Low Carbon Development/Clean Energy technologies
— Energy-water Nexus
— Eco-tourism Sites
— Regional Standards on Energy Products and Services
— Inventory and Mapping of Energy Resources
— Human Resources Development
— Gender Fair Approaches in Energy

The Action Plans will include the implementation of doubling renewable energy capacities by 2030 from 2010 levels, and reducing energy intensity by 45% by 2035 from 2005 levels.

Likewise, the Member Economies will also announce the chosen community for the Low Carbon Model Town (LCMT), which is a project of the APEC Energy Working Group to encourage communities in the region to embark on city planning initiatives promoting low carbon technologies to manage the rapidly increasing energy consumption and consequently, mitigate the adverse effects of greenhouse gas emissions on the environment.

There are only three LCMT nominees namely: Krasnoyarsk City, Russia; Mandaue City, Philippines; Subang Jaya, Malaysia, which will vie for the privilege to receive technical assistance, such as a Feasibility Study in determining ways to implement low carbon plans for their respective cities.

Lastly, in an effort to boost local tourism, the DOE, together with the Department of Tourism and Local Government of Cebu, arranged a Heritage Tour showcasing the culture and historic beauty of the said province before the APEC EMM12 come to a conclusion.

The Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) is a regional economic forum established in 1989 to leverage the growing interdependence of the Asia-Pacific.

APEC economies include: Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Chile, People’s Republic of China, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, Republic of Korea, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Philippines, Russia, Singapore, Chinese Taipei, Thailand, United States, and Vietnam. Mongolia will also attend the EMM12 in an observer status.

About "" is the fastest growing and most awarded blog and social media community that has transcended beyond online media. It has successfully collaborated with all forms of media namely print, radio and television making it the most diverse multimedia organization. The numerous collaborations with hundreds of brands and organizations as online media partner and brand ambassador makes a truly successful advocate of everything about the Philippines, and even more since its support extends further to even international organizations including startups and SMEs that have made our country their second home.
Ang Pambansang Blog ng Pilipinas Wazzup Pilipinas and the Umalohokans. Ang Pambansang Blog ng Pilipinas celebrating 10th year of online presence
Copyright © 2013 Wazzup Pilipinas News and Events
Design by FBTemplates | BTT