Thursday, April 11, 2019

Sinepiyu Deadline Extended to April 15

Wazzup Pilipinas!

Sinepiyu, an annual student film competition at Far Eastern University, is extending the deadline of submission of entries for its intercollegiate division to April 15.

Organized by the FEU Film Society in partnership with the President's Committee on Culture, Sinepiyu encourages aspiring and future filmmakers across the Philippines to tell stories about social realities and create social awareness.

The competition is divided into two groups, the ALL TAMARAWS for FEU Communication students who are currently enrolled in CNM2 (Film Production) and the FEU INTERCOLLEGIATE which is open to all student filmmakers from around the country.

The FEU INTERCOLLEGIATE is further divided into three categories – narrative, documentary and experimental. For the intercollegiate division, a fee of 150 pesos will be required to join the festival. Deposit and proof of payment submission details are provided in the mechanics and registration form.

Interested parties can register their films for the intercollegiate division through this link:

Sinepiyu 2019 also accepts film entries via, an online submission platform, at

Among the student films which won in this division, formerly known as the FEU Video Open, are Martika Ramirez Escobar’s “Melancolique Amie” and Petersen Vargas’ “Ito ang Huling Araw” and “Expiry” (UP Film Institute), Carl Chavez’s “Not Applicable,” Martin Mayuga’s “Finish Line” and Tim Rone Villanueva’s “Santa Nena!” (De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde), Tricia Sotaso’s “Ang Pagkalaglag ng Ginintuang Salamin ng Pagkakilanlan” and Lady Vicente’s “Ang Pagtuklas sa Larangan ng Pagiging Maria Clara” (Mapua University) and Ian Abaya’s “Ang Pangalan Ko ay Simon” (University of Santo Tomas).

Meanwhile, the deadline of submission of entries for the ALL TAMARAWS division is set on April 29.

Some notable FEU films which won in other competitions after their Sinepiyu premiere are Juan Pablo Pineda’s “Pua Iyam,” Josel Fajardo’s “Boyet Loves You,” Daryll Apaga’s “Retrospektib,” Jesus Singh’s “Madison,” Ralph Quincena’s “Dungaw,” Frances Louise Giner’s “Touch Move,” Francis Guillermo’s “Sa Gabing Tanging Liwanag ay Paniniwala,” Hannah Maur’s “Aswang,” Trisha Marie Antonio’s “Dama,” Bibo Ebuen’s “Ang Huling Bucketlist,” Jelen Tan’s “Estrella,” Christian Babista’s “Tagimpan,” Raf Evangelista’s “Apuhap,” Kenneth Mandrilla’s “Punla,” Monica Bianca Arcena’s “Uban,” Yesh Anne Burce’s “Keep Right,” Gladys Cristobal’s “In-Idol,” S. Ralph Gelua’s “Hakbang” and Fifth Solomon’s “Manibela.”

FEU Filmsoc adviser and advocacy filmmaker Seymour Sanchez commends FEU students for the quality of filmmaking they have been churning out in recent years. “Sinepiyu judges have noticed that although the FEU Department of Communication is not a film school, students have been able to produce films which can equal, if not surpass, those from the leading film schools in the country,” he said.

Sinepiyu will run from May 6 to 8 at the FEU Institute of Arts and Sciences Building. Awarding ceremonies will be held at the FEU Auditorium on May 10.

About "" is the fastest growing and most awarded blog and social media community that has transcended beyond online media. It has successfully collaborated with all forms of media namely print, radio and television making it the most diverse multimedia organization. The numerous collaborations with hundreds of brands and organizations as online media partner and brand ambassador makes a truly successful advocate of everything about the Philippines, and even more since its support extends further to even international organizations including startups and SMEs that have made our country their second home.

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Top ib essay writing service by with 200 experts. - term paper writing service every student can afford
Copyright © 2013 Wazzup Pilipinas News and Events
Design by FBTemplates | BTT