Monday, June 23, 2014

La Revolucion Filipina Set to Open Ballet Philippines’45th Anniversary – The Sapphire Season on July 25

Wazzup Pilipinas!

Ballet Philippines, the country’s classical and contemporary company in cooperation with the National Historical Commission of the Philippines proudly announces the return of Agnes Locsin’s La Revolucion Filipina to kick off the company’s 45th Anniversary – The Sapphire Season.

The sublime paralytic Apolinario Mabini and the story of his role in the Philippine Revolution are brought into the limelight once again, just in time for the hero’s sesquicentennial birth anniversary.

Named Outstanding Dance Production and winner of Outstanding Choreography for Agnes Locsin at the 2008 Gawad Buhay! Awards, La Revolucion Filipina features original music by Ryan Cayabyab and libretto by Dennis Marasigan.

Choreographer Agnes Locsin was a former artistic director and resident choreographer of Ballet Philippines. She was the Gawad CCP awardee for Dance in 2012.

This fourth restaging of the modern dance masterpiece is led by three members of La Revolucion Filipina’s original cast, Annette Cruz-Mariano, Judell de Guzman-Sicam, and Alden Lugnasin.

The role of Mabini was choreographed on Lugnasin, now the company’s resident choreographer and artistic director of Ballet Philippines II.

Preparations for the production began at the start of summer, with eleven of the company’s dancers being sent to Davao for a six-week residency at the Locsin Dance Workshop. The dancers underwent intensive training in Agnes Locsin’s signature Neo-Ethnic dance style on top of taking regular classical ballet classes. They also participated in the 32nd Locsin Dance Summer Showcase on May 14 alongside the Dance Workshop's regular students.

BP principal dancer Jean Marc Cordero plays the role of Apolinario Mabini. Cordero danced Mabini in the 2008 restaging, which was his first lead role for the company. He shares the stage with BP principal dancer Richardson Yadao and Tanghalang Pilipino actor Nicolo Magno, the new production’s Emilio Aguinaldos.

Several notable actors have essayed the role of Aguinaldo, starting with Nonie Buencamino, then Raymond Bagatsing and Richard Joson. The most recent cast included former Ballet Philippines dancers Angel Gabriel and Patrick Rebullida.

Agnes Locsin’s La Revolucion Filipina will be performed at the Tanghalang Nicanor Abelardo (CCP Main Theater) from July 25 to 27, 2014.

The show is at 3pm and 8 pm (Friday and Saturday) and 2pm and 6pm (Sunday).

The artistic and creative teams of La Revolucion Filipina are led by Agnes Locsin (Choreographer), Ryan Cayabyab (Music Composer), Dennis Marasigan (Librettist), Mio Infante (Set Designer), Virgilio “Katsch” Catoy (Lighting Designer), Victor Ursabia (Costume Designer), Annette Cruz-Mariano, Judell de Guzman-Sicam and Alden Lugnasin (Restagers).

For bulk reservations, show buys, and inquiries, visit, send an email to, or call Ballet Philippines at 551-1003. For tickets, call the CCP Box Office at 832-3704 or Ticketworld at 891-9999.

Connect to Ballet Philippines online through the following social media networks:

Twitter: @balletph
Instagram: @balletphilippines

The 45th Anniversary Sapphire Season. Rare scenes of power and grace. Love, valour and redemption. Under the artistic directorship of Paul Alexander Morales, this is a toast to 45 years of dance excellence!

See you at the theater!!!

About "" is the fastest growing and most awarded blog and social media community that has transcended beyond online media. It has successfully collaborated with all forms of media namely print, radio and television making it the most diverse multimedia organization. The numerous collaborations with hundreds of brands and organizations as online media partner and brand ambassador makes a truly successful advocate of everything about the Philippines, and even more since its support extends further to even international organizations including startups and SMEs that have made our country their second home.

Post a Comment

Ang Pambansang Blog ng Pilipinas Wazzup Pilipinas and the Umalohokans. Ang Pambansang Blog ng Pilipinas celebrating 10th year of online presence
Copyright © 2013 Wazzup Pilipinas News and Events
Design by FBTemplates | BTT