Thursday, September 22, 2016

DOE Takes Active Role in ASEAN Energy Summit

Wazzup Pilipinas!

The Philippines is taking an active role in meetings of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) on the subject of energy.

Energy Secretary Alfonso G. Cusi was elected as Vice Chairman when he attended the 34th ASEAN Ministers on Energy Meeting (AMEM34) and Associated Meetings from 21 to 23 September 2016 in Nay Pyi Taw, Myanmar.

During the series of Ministerial Meetings of the 13th AMEM+3 (China, Japan and Korea), the 10th East-Asia Summit Energy Ministers Meeting (EAS-EMM) and the 6th AMEM-International Energy Agency (IEA) Dialogue, Secretary Cusi shared about the broad energy sector direction under the Administration of President Rodrigo Duterte including the possible entry of emerging technologies such as Liquified Natural Gas; revisiting the merits of nuclear energy as an option for power generation and sustaining capital flows from potential investors through policy reforms in the approval process of energy projects.

With the theme “Towards Greener Community with Cleaner Energy” the meetings set into motion greater cooperation on the ASEAN Plan of Action for Energy Cooperation (APAEC) 2016-2025, Phase 1:2016-2020 within ASEAN and Dialogue Partners together with relevant international agencies.

As part of the Philippine Chairmanship of ASEAN in 2017, Secretary Cusi formally accepted the hosting of AMEM35 and its Associated Meetings in Manila from 18 to 22 September 2017. The Philippines hosted the same meetings twice in 1997, with the most recent in 2004.

The ASEAN Ministers of Energy Meeting provides political guidance and directions in the development and implementation of key energy sector priority initiatives and work programs consistent with the directives of the Heads of States/Governments of ASEAN.
Held annually, the hosting of such is on a rotation basis following the alphabetical sequence of ASEAN member-countries. The ASEAN was established to promote economic growth and shared prosperity in the region. The member-countries are Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao PDR, Myanmar, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.


DOE SOLIDARITY FOR ASEAN ENERGY: Ministers of Energy of the ASEAN Member-States (Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao PDR, Myanmar, Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam and the Philippines) hold hands symbolic of solidarity during the 34th ASEAN Ministers on Energy Meeting (AMEM), where Philippine Department of Energy Secretary Alfonso G. Cusi (5th from right) was Vice-Chair. In the same event, Sec. Cusi accepted in behalf of the Philippine government the hosting of the AMEM next year.

About "" is the fastest growing and most awarded blog and social media community that has transcended beyond online media. It has successfully collaborated with all forms of media namely print, radio and television making it the most diverse multimedia organization. The numerous collaborations with hundreds of brands and organizations as online media partner and brand ambassador makes a truly successful advocate of everything about the Philippines, and even more since its support extends further to even international organizations including startups and SMEs that have made our country their second home.

Post a Comment

Ang Pambansang Blog ng Pilipinas Wazzup Pilipinas and the Umalohokans. Ang Pambansang Blog ng Pilipinas celebrating 10th year of online presence
Copyright © 2013 Wazzup Pilipinas News and Events
Design by FBTemplates | BTT