Saturday, November 30, 2019

Film Industry Icons to Grace 37th FAP Luna Awards Night

Wazzup Pilipinas!

Award-winning producers, directors, actors, cinematographers, screenwriters, editors, sound designers, musical scorers, and production designers will come together to celebrate the greatness of their peers in Philippine Cinema at the 37th Film Academy of the Philippines (FAP) Luna Awards Night on Saturday, November 30, at the Maybank Performing Arts Theater in Bonifacio Global City, Taguig City. Leading the pack of Filipino film icons are Special Awardees Lily Monteverde and Nova Villa, who will receive the Fernando Poe, Jr. (FPJ) Memorial Award and Manuel de Leon Award for Exemplary Achievement, respectively.

Nominee and Special Awardee Nova Villa at the FAP Luna Awards Nominees' Night

Adding star power to the Awards Night are the impressive nominees as well as the iconic presenters, who will grace the stage and award the coveted Luna trophies, such as FAP Luna Awards Hall of Famer Joel Lamangan, Jose Javier Reyes, Bembol Roco, Ricky Davao, Cherie Gil, Snooky Serna, Liza Lorena, Yayo Aguila, Tommy Abuel, Raymond Bagatsing, Raquel Villavicencio, Roy Iglesias, Romy Vitug, Lee Briones-Meily, Marissa Floirendo, Edgar Martin Littaua, Manet Dayrit, Jess Navarro, Jesse Lucas, and Ditoy Aguila. Recipients of the citation "Sine Sandaan Luminaries: Production Companies of the Philippines" will also be in attendance, and representatives of the late Wenn Deramas and Soxie Topacio will receive the Lamberto Avellana Memorial Award, which will be bestowed on the directors posthumously.

Cinematographer Romy Vitug

As for the master of ceremonies, a renowned actor, comedian, host, and impersonator will take on the role singlehandedly with much gusto. He is none other than Jon Santos, who is sure to keep the Awards Ceremony entertaining and exhilarating. In addition, noteworthy performers are set to take the stage during the production numbers of the Awards Ceremony. These are The Company, Frenchie Dy, Gian Magdangal, Sheila Valderrama-Martinez, Lara Maigue, and the Dance Royalties choreographed by Dan Cabrera. Among the most-awaited numbers are the Musical Tribute to FAP Luna Awards Hall of Famers Willy Cruz and George Canseco, and the Sine Sandaan segment on the ongoing year-long celebration of the One Hundred Years of Philippine Cinema. The FAP Luna Awards Night will be masterfully staged under the direction of singer-songwriter Ice Seguerra.

Actor-comedian Jon Santos will host the 37th Luna Awards (Photo from his Facebook page)
From the announcement of the official list of nominees on November 12, to the well-attended Nominees’ Night on November 20, all eyes are on how the Awards Night will unfold on November 30. Film Development Council of the Philippines (FDCP) Chairperson and CEO Liza Diño gave a sneak peek into the theme of the 37th FAP Luna Awards. "This year's Luna Awards is going to be very distinctive because it is going to be anchored on another meaning of what Luna represents. This year, we explore Luna as the moon, as beautiful as it is with its different phases—much like the Philippine film industry. And as we celebrate our hundred years, we embrace these many phases while at the same time look forward to a new future—a full moon. Bright, complete, and illuminating of what’s ahead,” she shared.

The Company will serenade at the 37th Luna Awards (Photo from their Instagram account)

Diño went on to give a background on how FDCP got involved in this year’s organization of the FAP Luna Awards. The FAP, headed by Director-General Vivian Velez, is one of the Board of Trustees of FDCP. “For the last three years, and even before my time, FDCP has already been giving financial support to FAP for the conduct of the Luna Awards. But when I came in, talaga pong si Sir Leo Martinez, the former Director-General that time, and I have been working closely together in support of his initiatives. One of the things na pinag-usapan namin ay ang kagustuhan niyang ibalik muli ang ningning, ang kinang, ang prestige ng Luna Awards para po sa ating industriya because Luna Awards is a peer awards,” detailed Diño.

The FAP Luna Awards is regarded as the award-giving body that is “by and for the peers in the industry.” The choices of the Voters from the Electoral College are highly anticipated because the Voters are all former winners or nominees of the FAP Luna Awards or other prestigious award-giving bodies. Through the voting process and conduct of events, FAP and FDCP ensure that this year’s FAP Luna Awards will continue the tradition of giving recognition to the outstanding artistic accomplishments and technical achievements in Philippine Cinema.

The 37th FAP Luna Awards will kick off with the Red Carpet Ceremonies, followed by the Cocktail Reception and Awards Ceremony. The Red Carpet and Awards Ceremony will be shown via livestream on the Facebook page of FDCP (Film Development Council of the Philippines).

About "" is the fastest growing and most awarded blog and social media community that has transcended beyond online media. It has successfully collaborated with all forms of media namely print, radio and television making it the most diverse multimedia organization. The numerous collaborations with hundreds of brands and organizations as online media partner and brand ambassador makes a truly successful advocate of everything about the Philippines, and even more since its support extends further to even international organizations including startups and SMEs that have made our country their second home.

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Need professional help with your papers? - Visit this writing service supported by the best academic writers.
Copyright © 2013 Wazzup Pilipinas News and Events
Design by FBTemplates | BTT