Tuesday, September 19, 2017

AMEM35 to Intensify Cooperation on Energy Resiliency and Sustainability

How should the members of the 10-member Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) ensure access to, and adequate supply of, resilient and sustainable energy?

That's the main agenda of the 35th ASEAN Ministers on Energy Meeting (AMEM35) and Associated Meetings hosted by the Department of Energy (DOE) on Sept. 27 to 29.

“We envision dynamic and robust collaboration within ASEAN and dialogue partners as well as relevant international agencies,” said DOE Secretary Alfonso Cusi in describing the upcoming event at Conrad Manila, Pasay City.

With the theme “One ASEAN Community to Resilient and Sustainable Energy,” AMEM 35 will lay the groundwork for enhanced cooperation under the ASEAN Plan of Action for Energy Cooperation (APAEC) ‎‎2016-2025, Phase 1: ‎‎2016-2020, according to Cusi.

APAEC is a series of policy guidelines to implement energy cooperation as part of regional integration towards a globally competitive ASEAN.

A closed-door meeting between the ASEAN energy ministers and CEOs on strategies to address power demand in the region will highlight the ASEAN Energy Business Forum (AEBF) 2017 Conference which will run concurrent with AMEM35.

The series of ministerial meetings under AMEM35 also include the 14th AMEM+3 (China, Japan and Korea), the 11th East-Asia Summit Energy Ministers Meeting (EAS-EMM) and the 1st AMEM-International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA) Dialogue. 

Concurrent with the AMEM35 is the Powertrends International Exhibition at the SMX Convention Center. 

AMEM and AEBF will jointly open the event in the morning on September 27. The 2017 AEBF Conference will culminate with the closed-door ministers-CEO dialogue late in the afternoon.

AMEM35 is an annual gathering of the Energy Ministers which provides guidance and directions in the development and implementation of key energy sector priority initiatives and work programs in the region consistent with the directives of heads of states/governments of ASEAN.

The Philippines hosted the same meeting in 1997 and in 2004. 

The ASEAN was established to promote economic growth and prosperity in the region.  The member-countries include Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao PDR, Myanmar, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.

About "" is the fastest growing and most awarded blog and social media community that has transcended beyond online media. It has successfully collaborated with all forms of media namely print, radio and television making it the most diverse multimedia organization. The numerous collaborations with hundreds of brands and organizations as online media partner and brand ambassador makes a truly successful advocate of everything about the Philippines, and even more since its support extends further to even international organizations including startups and SMEs that have made our country their second home.

Post a Comment

Need professional help with your papers? - Visit this writing service supported by the best academic writers.
Copyright © 2013 Wazzup Pilipinas News and Events
Design by FBTemplates | BTT