Wednesday, February 3, 2021

FDCP to Stage 5th Film Ambassadors’ Night Online in Support of National Arts Month

Wazzup Pilipinas!

Despite the challenges brought about by the COVID-19 pandemic, Philippine Cinema was still able to gain various accolades in the global arena in 2020.


The Filipino filmmakers, actors, and films that received international recognitions from established film festivals and award-giving bodies over the past year will be honored in the 5th Film Ambassadors’ Night (FAN).


In support of National Arts Month of the National Commission for Culture and the Arts, the Film Development Council of the Philippines (FDCP) will hold this year’s FAN online on February 28. It is supported by the Cultural Center of the Philippines through the participation of the Philippine Philharmonic Orchestra.


The FAN is an annual gathering since 2017 organized by the FDCP that recognizes filmmakers whose international victories have brought honor to the country. Due to persisting restrictions brought about by the COVID-19 crisis, the FAN will be streamed live on the FDCP’s Facebook pages and YouTube Channel.

FDCP Chairperson and CEO Liza Diño remarked, “We laud the honorees for their artistry and perseverance, and these were not hindered even when the global cinema industry suffered so much. Our filmmakers still managed to put the spotlight on Philippine Cinema amid the pandemic, and for that we are grateful.”


She continued, “We are also humbled and honored because of the FDCP’s collaborations with the National Commission for Culture and the Arts and Cultural Center of the Philippines for the first-ever virtual FAN. This shows how much the government values our filmmakers and the rest of the country’s artists.”


The FAN has recognized more than 266 filmmakers in four editions. In 2020, the A-List Winners roster, pertaining to those won in A-List international film festivals, included “Verdict” by Raymund Ribay Gutierrez which won the Special Jury Prize in the Horizons (Orizzonti) section of the Venice International Film Festival in Italy.


The other A-List Winners were “Mindanao” director Brillante Mendoza who won for Best Artistic Contribution at the Cairo International Film Festival in Egypt, “Mindanao” lead Judy Ann Santos who was the Cairo Best Actress, “Aswang” by Alyx Ayn Arumpac which won the FIPRESCI Prize in the International Documentary Film Festival Amsterdam (IDFA) in the Netherlands, and Jun Robles Lana who won Best Director for “Kalel, 15” at the Tallinn Black Nights Film Festival in Estonia.

Apart from recognizing the country’s international award winners of the past year, the FDCP also bestows during the FAN its highest honor called the Camera Obscura Artistic Excellence Award for icons, trailblazers, and legends.

The Camera Obscura Award recipients in 2020 were Cathy Garcia-Molina for being the highest-grossing Filipino Film director, Nick Deocampo for being the vanguard of Filipino film history and education, and Ricky Lee for being an awarded scriptwriter and dedicated mentor to the next generation of scriptwriters.


On February 28, a new batch of Filipino film ambassadors will be duly recognized to be led by the Camera Obscura Awardees and A-Listers. Among the other FAN categories are Short Films, Documentaries, Technical Awards, Acting Awards, and Feature Films. 

About "" is the fastest growing and most awarded blog and social media community that has transcended beyond online media. It has successfully collaborated with all forms of media namely print, radio and television making it the most diverse multimedia organization. The numerous collaborations with hundreds of brands and organizations as online media partner and brand ambassador makes a truly successful advocate of everything about the Philippines, and even more since its support extends further to even international organizations including startups and SMEs that have made our country their second home.

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Need professional help with your papers? - Visit this writing service supported by the best academic writers.
Copyright © 2013 Wazzup Pilipinas News and Events
Design by FBTemplates | BTT