Wednesday, January 22, 2020

Pista ng Pelikulang Pilipino 4 Coming this September

Wazzup Pilipinas!

The fourth Pista ng Pelikulang Pilipino (PPP) will be back this September 11-17, 2020 where audiences can experience a week-long celebration of Philippine Cinema at FDCP’s annual flagship program featuring quality films with captivating storylines, set to premiere in movie theaters nationwide.

This national industry event celebration in partnership with cinemas provides an exclusive platform for Filipino filmmakers and producers, giving particular focus to independent productions. PPP allows them to showcase their unique stories with the opportunity to reach the widest audience in the country. It also provides an opportunity to showcase quality films with an elevated genre, exhibiting the versatility and ingenuity of Filipino Cinema.

Last year’s PPP concluded with an award’s night that crowned Eduardo Roy Jr.’s Lola Igna as the festival’s ‘Best Picture’ and LSS as the ‘Special Jury Prize’ winner. Lola Igna also racked in the awards for ‘Best Screenplay,’ ‘Best Musical Score.’ Its lead star Angie Ferro won the award for ‘Best Actress’. Other winners included Tyrone Acierto as ‘Best Director’ for his film Watch me Kill and Martin Del Rosario as ‘Best Actor’ for his role in The Panti Sisters.

“We are truly proud and excited to continue championing Filipino films and encouraging Filipino filmmakers to be competitive players in the industry through the Pista ng Pelikulang Pilipino. In the past three years, we have raised immense support from our Filipino audience who have shown how eager they are to watch quality films of different genres from stories that are ours,” said FDCP Chairperson Liza Dino. “With the fourth year and the closing of the 100 Years of Philippine Cinema, PPP will continue to challenge and expand the stories and reach of our films towards a more global perspective. Especially with our next hundred years, we hope that this platform becomes integral in placing Philippine Cinema at the worldwide stage in both technical and creative and storytelling aspects,” she added.

Aside from featuring 10 full-length films, last year’s PPP also premiered short films under ‘Sine Kabataan,’ a short-film competition for young filmmakers conducted alongside the week-long festival. Kalakalaro, directed by Rodson Verr Suarez, won the ‘Best Short Film’ award for the competition.

This year’s PPP will conclude Sine Sandaan, the year-long celebration of one hundred years of Philippine cinema spearheaded by FDCP that kicked off at last year’s PPP. Under Presidential Proclamation 622, signed November 2018, FDCP was assigned to lead the centennial year celebration of Philippine cinema.

About "" is the fastest growing and most awarded blog and social media community that has transcended beyond online media. It has successfully collaborated with all forms of media namely print, radio and television making it the most diverse multimedia organization. The numerous collaborations with hundreds of brands and organizations as online media partner and brand ambassador makes a truly successful advocate of everything about the Philippines, and even more since its support extends further to even international organizations including startups and SMEs that have made our country their second home.

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Need professional help with your papers? - Visit this writing service supported by the best academic writers.
Copyright © 2013 Wazzup Pilipinas News and Events
Design by FBTemplates | BTT