Tuesday, May 15, 2018

DOE: Energy Situation Normal on Election Day

Wazzup Pilipinas!

Energy Secretary Alfonso G. Cusi today disclosed that the power supply situation during the synchronized Barangay and Sangguniang Kabataan (SK) elections on Monday was generally normal except for isolated tripping incidents in some areas which were immediately responded to by technical personnel on standby.

Cusi said the Department of Energy (DOE) would remain on a heightened alert status until all the votes in the local elections have been canvassed.

The Energy Task Force Election (ETFE) led by the DOE carried out 24-hour monitoring of critical power facilities for the continued delivery of electricity services during the polling period.

The National Power Corporation (NPC) said there were no outages reported by NPC-owned power plants and independent power producers. Casecnan and San Roque were placed on economic shutdown by NPC System Operations due to low water elevation, but this did not affect the power supply chain during the election period.

As to transmission lines, only the D2: La Trinidad-Sagada 69kV Line auto-tripped and auto-reclosed at 3:55 p.m. on 14 May.

System peak demand during the polls stood at 8,636 megawatts (MW) for Luzon, 1,720 MW for Visayas and 1,458 MW for Mindanao at 7:00 p.m. with total available capacities at 16, 462 MW including stable reserve capacities.

The National Electrification Administration (NEA) also reported normal situation in most electric cooperatives with minor power interruption in some areas.

In the Manila Electric Co. franchise area, there were no major troubles experienced between 10:00 p.m. of 13 May up until 7:00 p.m. of 14 May, with only minor outages involving distribution feeder segments that temporarily affected power supply to only 15 polling precincts in Hagonoy, Norzagaray and Sta. Maria in Bulacan; Antipolo and Binangonan in Rizal; and Pasay City.

Meanwhile, despite the Magnitude 5.5 earthquake in Surigao del Norte and Magnitude 5.4 earthquake in Malita, Davao Occidental, there was no reported damage in both the transmission and distribution facilities in the affected areas.

Members of the Energy Task Force Election are the DOE, National Electrification Administration, National Power Corporation, National Transmission Corporation, National Grid Corporation of the Philippines, Philippine National Oil Company, Power Sector Assets and Liabilities Management Corporation, Philippine Electricity Market Corp. and Manila Electric Company.

Supporting organizations include the Philippine Rural Electric Cooperatives Association, Inc., Philippine Electric Plant Owners Association, Philippine Independent Power Producers Association, Retail Electricity Suppliers Association, Philippine Institute of Petroleum, Independent Philippine Petroleum Companies Association as well as the Security Group: National Security Council, Armed Forces of the Philippines, Philippine National Police, Bureau of Fire Protection and Philippine Coast Guard.

About "" is the fastest growing and most awarded blog and social media community that has transcended beyond online media. It has successfully collaborated with all forms of media namely print, radio and television making it the most diverse multimedia organization. The numerous collaborations with hundreds of brands and organizations as online media partner and brand ambassador makes a truly successful advocate of everything about the Philippines, and even more since its support extends further to even international organizations including startups and SMEs that have made our country their second home.

Post a Comment

Top ib essay writing service by with 200 experts. - term paper writing service every student can afford
Copyright © 2013 Wazzup Pilipinas News and Events
Design by FBTemplates | BTT